Branches

You are here

Branches and Regional networks are strongly encouraged within the HERDSA community. These may be organised by the Executive or other local members. Limited funds are available for local networking activities such as colloquia, fora, post-conference presentations, network meetings, or speakers. To apply for funding contact the HERDSA President or your local network contact.

Branch Handbook

A copy of the HERDSA Branch Handbook (PDF) is available for free download.

AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY (ACT)

The HERSDA ACT Branch is an active network of professionals across all local universities committed to the advancement of higher and tertiary education. Monthly research seminars, educational workshops and newsletters provide opportunities for collaboration, peer support and networking.  Several HERDSA TATAL (Talking about Teaching and Learning) groups are active in the ACT with close linkages to HERDSA branches across Australasia.   

HERDSA ACT Branch Chair

Karin Oerlemans, University of Canberra
oerlemans.karin@gmail.com

HERDSA ACT committee members

Gesa Ruge
Gesa.Ruge@canberra.edu.au

Tess Snowball, The Australian National University
tess.snowball@anu.edu.au

Pamela Roberts, Charles Sturt University
paroberts@csu.edu.au

Catherine McLoughlin, Australian Catholic University
catherine.mcloughlin@acu.edu.au

QUEENSLAND

Branch Chair

Dr Rebecca Sealey
rebecca.sealey@jcu.edu.au

Branch committee members
Kylie Readman
KReadman@usc.edu.au

Angela Hill
angela.hill@jcu.edu.au

Glyn Thomas
g.thomas4@uq.edu.au

Branch web page
https://www.jcu.edu.au/learning-and-teaching/staff/herdsa

SOUTH AUSTRALIA

The HERDSA SA branch aims to make HERDSA relevant to and inclusive of discipline-based academics in the three South Australian universities.

Branch Chair

Sharron King
sharron.king@unisa.edu.au

Branch committee members
Ann Luzeckyj
Secretary
ann.luzeckyj@flinders.edu.au

David Birbeck
Treasurer
David.Birbeck@unisa.edu.au

Benn McCann
benjamin.mccann@adelaide.edu.au

Dale Wache
Dale.Wache@unisa.edu.au

Amanda Richardson
Amanda.Richardson@unisa.edu.au

Melissa Nursey-Bray
melissa.nursey-bray@adelaide.edu.au

Helen Benzie
helen.benzie@unisa.edu.au

TASMANIA

The Branch was established in October 2011 and, in conjunction with the University of Tasmania, facilitates the coordination of learning and teaching opportunities for professional development of HERDSA members. A pre-HERDSA conference workshop in June and a post-conference workshop in July enable members to share scholarly activities and receive peer feedback. In addition, members attend a workshop and collegial event during the annual University of Tasmania Teaching Matters conference. The Branch aims to inform members about best practices in learning and teaching and provide a forum for members to develop collaborative networks.

Branch Chair

Tracy Douglas
T.Douglas@utas.edu.au

Branch committee members
Susan Jones
S.M.Jones@utas.edu.au

Janine Tarr
Janine.Tarr@utas.edu.au

VICTORIA

Branch Chair
Liz Levin
elevin@swin.edu.au

Branch committee members

Colin Jevons
Deputy Chair
Colin.jevons@monash.edu

Julia Choate
Secretary
julia.choate@monash.edu

Theda Thomas

Events
Theda.Thomas@acu.edu.au

Sharon Berman
s.berman@deakin.edu.au

Laurine Hurley
Laurine.Hurley@acu.edu.au

Leanne McCann
leanne.mccann@monash.edu

Cath Moore
cmoore@swin.edu.au

Trish McCluskey
trish.mccluskey@vu.edu.au

Fiona Wahr
FionaWahr@melbournepolytechnic.edu.au

WESTERN AUSTRALIA

In line with HERDSA national and international, the WA Branch promotes HERDSA WA as a scholarly society for people committed to the advancement of higher and tertiary education. HERDSA WA runs a series of seminars (approximately five per year) under the title ‘Scholarship Profiled’, with the aim of providing local researchers the opportunity to share scholarly information. As a follow-up from the annual HERDSA conference, the WA Branch hosts a half-day seminar named ‘HERDSA Rekindled’ providing a series of short presentations by the WA conference presenters. This has been hugely successful in the past two years.

Branch Chair
Melissa Davis
M.Davis@exchange.curtin.edu.au

Branch committee members
Lee Partridge
Lee.partridge@uwa.edu.au

Abigail Lewis
abigail.lewis@ecu.edu.au

Sue Bolt
Susan.Bolt@cbs.curtin.edu.au

Catherine Moore
c.moore@ecu.edu.au

Abigail Lewis
abigail.lewis@ecu.edu.au

Rosemary Kerr
R.Kerr@cbs.curtin.edu.au

Susan Edgar
susan.edgar@nd.edu.au

Branch web page
http://our.murdoch.edu.au/Educational-Development/Scholarship-of-T-and-L...

HONG KONG

Aiming to contribute to the advancement of higher education in Hong Kong, HERDSA Hong Kong Branch has been working with colleagues to form a learning community in which best practices in important areas like staff development and student learning.

Branch Chair
Dr Anna Kwan
anna.kwan@outlook.com

Branch committee members
Dr Crusher Wong
Vice-chair
crusher.wong@cityu.edu.hk

Dr Theresa Kwong
Treasurer
theresa@hkbu.edu.hk

Mr Peter Lau
Secretary
fmlau@hkbu.edu.hk

Dr Kevin Chan
Event Coordinator
kevin.chan@polyu.edu.hk

Dr Paul Lam
Event Coordinator
paul.lam@cuhk.edu.hk

Dr Beatrice Chu
Event Coordinator
beatrice.chu@hkust.edu.hk

Branch web page
http://herdsahk.edublogs.org

NEW ZEALAND

HERDSA New Zealand has members from more than 15 tertiary institutions around the country. Our aim is to promote, assist and advance tertiary education in New Zealand. Our particular focus is building a community of tertiary educators and facilitating the improvement of teaching, research and policy. We will represent the interests of members, provide opportunities for networking and professional development, recognise and reward outstanding contributions to tertiary education in New Zealand, and encourage cooperation with other organisations and agencies who have similar interests in tertiary education. We run an annual conference (Tertiary Education Research NZ) when we are not hosting the Australasian HERDSA Conference, as well as regular workshops and seminars. We offer the TERNZ medal to recognise and reward outstanding contributions to tertiary educational research in New Zealand.

Branch Chair
Barbara Kensington-Miller
b.kensington-miller@auckland.ac.nz

Branch committee members
Rob Wass
Secretary
Rob.wass@otago.ac.nz

Erik Brogt
Treasurer
erik.brogt@canterbury.ac.nz

Jennie Billot
jennie.billot@aut.ac.nz

Nell Buissink
nell.abuissink@aut.ac.nz

Tanya Evans
t.evans@auckland.ac.nz

Clinton Golding
clinton.golding@otago.ac.nz

Julia Hallas
julia.hallas@aut.ac.nz

Tony Harland
tony.harland@otago.ac.nz

Eva Heinrich
E.Heinrich@massey.ac.nz

John Milne
J.D.Milne@massey.ac.nz

Kathryn Sutherland
Kathryn.Sutherland@vuw.ac.nz

Branch web page
http://www.herdsa.org.nz/